There is no book genre on a bad day or a long flight like Chick Lit. I was having a bad day so I bought The Singles Game by Lauren Weisberger.

The Singles Game is not a particularly good book. It is also not Lauren Weisberger’s best book; I recommend The Devil Wears Prada. But I found an interesting reflection of changing social mores buried in the plot of The Singles Game.

Our heroine, a great tennis player and very nice person, vapes cannabis at a party. To conform to the requirements of this genre, she has never smoked cannabis and gets high accidentally.

Our heroine is shamed. But those around her are not. Her requisite best friend says “It actually sounds kind of chic. Pot is legal in a whole bunch of states. I don’t know how many, but it’s a lot.” Her father comforts her “sweetheart , I was going to say that you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. Everyone makes mistakes.”

In a chick lit novel, our heroine can blunder but not in way that will permanently alienate us. Notice that cannabis has become this sort of  a tolerable transgression. Notice that the book acknowledges that pot has become legal. Times have changed.

