On September 27, 2016 at approximately 3:30 EST,  I walked through the  Bright Angel Lodge and unto the Grand Canyon.

The Grand Canyon is suddenly there-big with brightly colored layers of rock. The Colorado River is there  but invisible from the rim. Then, the sky and clouds are there.  I was not alone, of course, but that made no difference.

No photograph, no painting prepares you for the ecstatic beauty of the Grand Canyon.  Geology nerd that I am, it made me doubt my doubts about the existence of God. I wanted to live there; I wanted to jump; I felt small but complete.

This post has waited until there was some small bit of creative writing I could contribute. about the Grand Canyon. If you took the trees from the most beautiful fall you’ve ever seen and stacked them vertically, that would be the Grand Canyon.

images

 

