Can you remember the last time you spoke the “Pledge of Allegiance”? Can you remember the last time you heard it spoken? I am hazy on the former but the answer to the latter is last Sunday at a 9/11 commemoration ceremony in Nyack before the street fair.

Here’s some Wikipedia history. Francis Bellamy wrote the pledge in 1892. The phrase “the flag of the United States of America” was added in 1923. “Under God” was added in 1954.

And just in case you need a refresher:
I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the republic for which it stands. One nation under God, indivisible with liberty and justice for all.

Now doesn’t the pledge sound old timey? The word allegiance? The symbolism of a flag as a representation of a country? Then that last sentence which is offensive [under god] and then assuming best intentions extraordinarily naïve.

I believe in the United States of America. I am glad most of the time that I live here. I do think our freedom of speech is admirable. But I could not utter the words of this pledge.  It is time for a rewrite.Under God’ should be removed. Instead of “with liberty and justice for all” how about which “aspires to justice and equality to all.”Perhaps an affirmation would work.

After I hit post, I will continue to reflect; it is a good, serious question in a serious year.

 

