One ugly fact of life in the Northeast is getting the finger from another driver because you drove in a manner they disapproved of. Sometimes I wonder if they learned to do this in the driver’s ed class I missed or if this is an extra accessory that came with their car.

If you haven’t seen this move lately, the gesture looks like this:

imgres.jpg

Even if you deserved a negative nonverbal for your driving, the hostility of this gesture is unnerving. And the traditional response of asshole doesn’t work for me.

Yesterday when put in the finger receiving situation, I was inspired. “Trump supporter” I mouthed and immediately felt better. I recommend this curse for the next time someone gives you the finger. No yelling this retort in case the other driver is a Trump supporter.

PS If you regularly give other drivers the finger while driving and are not a Trump supporter, consider meditation.

