With good intentions and faith, I have been trying for the past few months to read the one volume version of Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen. Like my experience with Moby Dick, I have not gotten into the book and have not perceived its proclaimed greatness.
What does this say about the book? What does this say about me? The book is very long but so are Infinite Jest and Underworld which I adored. Am I not nature loving or nautical enough? Coincidence or not that he was friends with James Salter, he of the beautiful sentences, who also kept me at a distance? Does Shadow Country seem Faulknersque another author I don’t get? Assume I am doing the negative version of a fifth grade book report, how would I finish the sentence that starts with “if you don’t like…” books about violent men told by three different narrators

