by Eleanor Brown

The Weird Sisters is a good example of high end chick lit. It’s chick lit because the plot concerns three women [sisters] thirty somethings who all have issues but who all resolve them successfully with the help of men by the end of the novel. It’s high class because their father is a Shakespeare professor, and the family communicates in Shakespeare one liners, especially when the topic is difficult.
Through a collection of essays I’m also reading, I learned that the author “wrote the book because I was trying to answer questions that I was struggling with, like what it means to be an adult, and why it is so difficult to move away from the roles that our families give us.”
She makes the reader think about these topics. But how she got me is in her discussion of reading. This is a family of readers as mine was; everybody is always reading in different places and positions. This book made me ask why I read-see a future blog post for the answer. And when the middle girl has to explain to current beau how she manages to read a ton of books every year, the narrator observes that this “was the impetus for their break up” because despite his merits, “he was not a reader.”

