We organized at 24th and Park and then marched down Broadway past the Flatiron building to Union Square with the police forming a fence. Drums were drummed; signs were waved, and Ganja Granny was carried in a litter. The weather was the best side of spring. Fashion highlights included green knee socks. I chatted with someone who collects Scotch and cowboy boots. I’m a veteran (year 2); in honor of that milestone, I carried a sign but don’t remember what it said. Like last year, I was disappointed at the ratio between the number of people who say they support legalization or said they would attend and the number who did. I can’t simply chalk the answer up to stoner laziness because the phenomenon is broader. Could it be “Liked you on Facebook, what more do you expect me to do?”

