Blogging to you live from the Port Authority Bus Terminal[because I can]

When I wrote my review of 50 Shades [entry slightly below], I knew that the book had drawn attention but was oblivious of the reviews by tony publications like the New Yorker and the New York Review of Books. I also did not know that “everybody says the book is misogynistic.” This experience suggests that perhaps it is a good idea for writers not to read what other writers have written; because of my ignorance/innocence I wasn’t afraid to set out my thoughts.

Now to climb out on a limb a bit.. Of course, there are many definitions of the phrase “good book.” One definition of a good book that works for me is a book that makes me aware of what I wasn’t aware of before. Using that definition, 50 Shades is a good book because before I read the book, I was unaware of “fan fiction” as a genre. [Fans write original stories using favorite characters. 50 Shades was a Twilight spin off.] The way the author developed a market for the book was also astute and clever [fan fiction, print on demand e-book, print last.]

So there.

