I am and always have been a voracious reader and  cultural imbiber. But I notice that what I read and Netflix tends to blur. So, I thought I’d keep track here.

What I Netflixed This Week

  • Harry & Tonto
  • Jane Eyre
  • The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

What I Read

  • Rules of Civility
  • Subliminal
  • History of Art and Music [working diligently on this like the good student I am]

I first saw Rules of Civility in Kramer Books in DC; it’s appaently a popular summer reading choice because I saw someone reading it on the train and it appeared on the racks in the Secaucus train station upscale convenience store. Why is it popular? The characters drink many martinis and the writing style reminds me of one (though I’ve never had one; it’s my fantasy of what a martini is like). There’s also the interest of a male using the voice of a female narrator though maybe it’s easier than it seems as a literary technique. This won’t be one of my memorable reads because I didn’t like any of the characters [my Seinfield test]

If and when someone reads this who has read Rules of Civility though I hope that blogging in a world of so much content will be pretty anonymous, wants to comment, please do.

